All Sorts of Weird Stuff: News

All Sorts of Weird Stuff offers news and information about George R.R. Martin, in particular about his A Song of Ice and Fire series.

"When I was young, I read all sorts of stuff. One week it would be Lovecraft, the next Vance. It was all imaginative literature, or as my dad called it 'Weird Stuff.' It was all 'Weird Stuff.'"

George R.R. Martin

New to the series? Read our spoiler-free review of A Game of Thrones.

Read our Privacy Policy.

Connect With Us
Recent Entries
Archives

View All

Calendar
August 2014
M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Sites of Interest

A Song of Ice and Fire

World of Ice and Fire App Updated

In yet more app-related news, a big update has taken place for the official A World of Ice and Fire app (Download: iTunes, Google Play), which Linda and I have worked on.

The latest update brings Jonathan Roberts‘s The Lands of Ice and Fire (Order: Amazon US, Amazon UK) maps to the app, including the map of the Known World which depicted the world in unprecedented detail for the very first time. All of these maps are based on George’s hand-drawn maps, and were made with his direct oversight.

The Hedge Knight Returns

This summer, Amazon announced the formation of a new imprint dedicated to the publication of graphic novels: Jet City Comics.

With this news came the announcement of the initial slate of comics that would be published by Jet City, a slate which featured the works of George R.R. Martin quite heavily. First up among them is Meathouse Man, adapted by artist Raya Golden from Martin’s disturbing science fiction tale in an imagined future where corpses are reanimated as the servants, and playthings, of men. That’s due in October…

... but for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire, it gets better: Jet City will be republishing The Hedge Knight graphic novel (adapted by Ben Avery and Mike S. Miller) in November, and following that up with the republication of The Sworn Sword by the same team in January.

And then, to cap it off? The third Dunk & Egg story, “The Mystery Knight”, is due to finally be adapted to comics—once more by the team of Avery and Miller—for Random House, publishers of the A Song of Ice and Fire series and—with Dynamite—of the comic book adaptation of the same.

Gold Dragons Kickstarted

We’re very happy to report that the Shire Post‘s effort to create real gold dragon coins, using Kickstarter to raise the seed funding to acquire the necessary gold, is now a reality! Today, the Kickstarter crossed its $10,000 goal. Many congratulations to Tom at Shire Post, and to those who’ve contributed towards making this happen.

Art from A Clash of Kings

Last year, George R.R. Martin and Subterranean Press revealed that the new, limited edition of A Clash of Kings was to feature the art of noted artist Richard Hescox. With this year’s Worldcon approaching, Hescox has noted that he’ll be in attendance and will be displaying some of his artwork for the limited edition at the convention…

... but he’s shared a sample of that work, over at his gallery page for the book. The gallery features over a dozen artworks, both in color and black and white, out of the total of sixteen paintings and over sixty black-and-white illustrations that he’s provided for the book.

Pre-orders for the book began in July, with exclusive rights to pre-order to those who’ve purchased A Dance with Dragons previously. As noted by Subterranean, this limited edition release actually precedes the planned A Game of Thrones limited edition, as the artwork for that one has not yet been completed. Pre-orders on remaining, unclaimed volumes of A Clash of Kings will take place in October.

Kickstarting the Gold Dragons

Tom Maringer of the Shire Post Mint, official licensed producers of replica coins based on those described in A Song of Ice and Fire, has been on a roll lately with the coins he’s been making and selling… and he’s now reveal a plan that he’s long been dreaming of: replica gold dragons using genuine 22k gold. But it’s a very costly endeavor, acquiring the gold to produce the coins, so he’s reached out via c to get the initial seed funding to realize the dream.

Via the project, Tom shares:

We are currently rolling out the new Game of Thrones “Dragons of Westeros” brass Dragon coins! These are about the size and weight of the old $10 gold piece, about 1-1/16” diameter and weighing 14 grams in brass. The actual gold ones will be more like 16.9 grams of 22k gold such that they contain exactly 1/2 troy ounce. Both types will be officially released at WorldCon, down in San Antonio, Texas, at the end of August.

Support levels for the project range from a thank you from Tom and co., to copies of the brass versions of the dragons (as well as the very popular Faceless Man coin), all the way up to the top level including the three new coins both in brass and gold. The Kickstarter project page has many, many images of the coins to admire. Tom’s shared some great videos and background information in his project updates, so make sure to check them out!

A Glimpse at the 2015 Calendar

The 2014 A Song of Ice and Fire Calendar, illustrated by the incomparable Gary Gianni, was released last month (Order: Amazon US, Amazon UK) to great acclaim… and already, another fantastic artist is hard at work at next year’s calendar.

This time, it’s Donato Giancola, who’s just as legendary an artist as Gianni, Nasmith, and all the other remarkable artists that have tried their hand at depicting George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire setting and world. Giancola has posted an early sketch (note: technically NSFW) for one of the paintings, with some commentary. He seems to find the novels a great source of inspiration, as he laments there being only twelve months in a year.

A Glimpse at the Dance of the Dragons

Tor.com has been busily posting excerpts from the George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois anthology, Dangerous Women (Pre-order: Amazon US, Amazon UK), and today they have released the excerpt of Martin’s own entry, “The Princess and the Queen”.

The novella—which distills details Martin revealed for The World of Ice and Fire—recounts much of the Dance of the Dragons, the destructive civil war that tore the Seven Kingdoms apart from 129 to 131, and should provide some very interesting insights into the ancestors of Daenerys Targaryen. The excerpt is also accompanied by a longer, not too spoilerish review of the entire novella.

Dangerous Women will be published on December 3.

GRRM and Neil Gaiman Join Forces

... to give Paul and Storm a little lesson:

All in a bit of fun, of course! The source of GRRM’s “ire” would be this popular song from the comedy music duo, “Write Like the Wind (George R.R. Martin)”:

GRRM on Dorne

Not long after we posted our video discussing all Dorne, its people, and its history, George R.R. Martin weighed in on the topic of the Dornishmen as a people, in relation to the casting of actor Pedro Pascal in the role of the Red Viper, Prince Oberyn Martell. Here is Martin on his vision of the “salty Dornishmen”, with our thoughts afterward:

“As for the Dornishmen, well, though by and large I reject one to one analogies, I’ve always pictured the “salty Dornish” as being more Mediterranean than African in appearance; Greek, Spanish, Italian, Portugese, etc. Dark hair and eyes, olive skin. Pedro Pascal is Chilean. (Check out Amok’s version of the Red Viper, that’s how I saw him. Or Magali Villenueve’s beautiful and sexy portrait of Princess Arianne). “

 

Discussing Dorne

With the recent news of the casting of Pedro Pascal as Oberyn Martell in season 4 of HBO’s Game of Thrones, it seemed to Linda and I to be an excellent time to discuss the history and culture of our very favorite region in the Seven Kingdoms: Dorne. Clocking in at just under an hour, we cover a lot of ground in this video. Enjoy!

Ice and Fire Trivia in NYC

New York City’s Slattery’s Midtown Pub will be playing host to an official A Song of Ice and Fire trivia contest! On June 25th, five rounds of trivia questions based on the novels (not the TV show)—questions which we here over at Westeros.org have had a look over and some input on— will see the best teams winning some cool rewards, such as signed copies of the novels and more!

Sponsored by series publisher Random House and arranged by Trivia A.D., the full details of the trivia competition and registration for tickets to participate can be found at the event page.

GRRM on Conan

As we reported yesterday, George R.R. Martin appeared on the Conan O’Brien show last night. In the course of his appearance, he discussed writing the novels and keeping facts straight, and (to our delight) mentioned us over here at Westeros.org:

There are other clips of his appearance on the site, and the full episode should be available for streaming some time tonight.

Discussing the Winds of Winter Sample

After having a great lack of time these last weeks, the down time due to the delay of episode 9 of Game of Thrones by a week finally gave us a bit of time to record a new installment in our A Song of Ice and Fire videos. In this installment, we discuss the sample chapter from The Winds of Winter that is available at George’s official website. Naturally, there are spoilers! See the video below:

And as an added bonus, we would be remiss not to mention our appearance on Talkback Radio, where Linda and I spoke for an over an hour with host Justin Mireku about the Game of Thrones series in relation to the novels. There’s spoilers here, too:

World of Ice and Fire Update

We’ve been receiving questions lately regarding The World of Ice and Fire, as there has been a shift in the publication schedule which has led to it being pulled for pre-ordering from Amazon and other retaliers (for now). We’ve made a few remarks on the forum, but it seem that George himself has discussed the book at his appearance at the ConQuest convention in Kansas City (we’ve one report—more coming—at the So Spake Martin collection from Professor Henry O. Jacoby, who edited the Game of Thrones and Philosophy), and provided some of the details we’ve been sitting on. In fact, the interest must be pretty high, because even the Guardian—one of the leading papers in the UK—has devoted some time to covering the book.

Pre-order Dangerous Women

The latest anthology from George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois, Dangerous Women, can now be pre-ordered in the US (Amazon: Hardcover, Kindle). Among noteworthy contributors are Sharon Kay Penman, Brandon Sanderson, Lev Grossman, Diana Gabaldon… and GRRM himself, with a novella set in the Seven Kingdoms titled “The Princess and the Queen”. It will recount events leading up to and including the civil war called the Dance of the Dragons, when Rhaenyra Targaryen fought her brother Aegon over the Iron Throne.

It’s adapted from material written for The World of Ice and Fire, distilled down to a narrowed focus on the titular characters… but the world book, we promise, will provide a wider picture of the conflict, and the historical figures involved in it.