All Sorts of Weird Stuff: News

All Sorts of Weird Stuff offers news and information about George R.R. Martin, in particular about his A Song of Ice and Fire series.

"When I was young, I read all sorts of stuff. One week it would be Lovecraft, the next Vance. It was all imaginative literature, or as my dad called it 'Weird Stuff.' It was all 'Weird Stuff.'"

George R.R. Martin

New to the series? Read our spoiler-free review of A Game of Thrones.

Read our Privacy Policy.

Connect With Us
Recent Entries
Archives

View All

Calendar
July 2014
M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Sites of Interest
New York Comic Con Signing

From the Dabel Brothers, we’ve received the latest press release notifying everyone of GRRM’s upcoming appearance at the New York Comic Con, which has been noted in the Calendar:

MARVEL COMICS, DABEL BROTHERS ANNOUNCE GEORGE R. R. MARTIN SIGNING AT NEW YORK COMIC CONVENTION
New York Times Bestselling Author announces surprise signing in February for fans of “A Song of Ice and Fire” and The Hedge Knight!

He’s one of the biggest names in the world of science fiction and fantasy, with millions of fans around the globe. He’s a New York Times Bestselling author, he’s won multiple Hugo and Nebula awards, and he recently made headlines when HBO announced that it will begin producing his novels into a television series.

And, best of all, he will be signing his books at the New York Comic Convention.

Dabel Brothers Productions and Marvel Comics announced today that George R. R. Martin, author of the bestselling series “A Song of Ice and Fire,” will be signing the hardcover collected edition of the Dabel Brothers’ popular graphic novel based on Martin’s novella, THE HEDGE KNIGHT, on Saturday, February 24th, from 3:00-4:00.

“Mr. Martin has been a huge supporter of our company from the start, and we’re thrilled to be able to have him attend the New York Comic Convention this year,” explained Les Dabel, Vice President of Dabel Brothers Production. “The Hedge Knight was our first major release, and it was the book that really put our company on the map in the comic book industry. We’re grateful to him for all he’s done for us, and we’re excited that he is so enthusiastic about The Hedge Knight that he’s willing to come out and sign it for his fans.”

The Hedge Knight is a prequel to Martin’s novel series, and tells the story of a young squire named Dunk who takes up sword and shield when his master passes away. Under the name “Ser Duncan the Tall,” Dunk decides to compete in a tilting tournament nearby, but soon finds himself learning many lessons about the complicated world of knights and nobility.

The novella first appeared in Robert Silverberg’s Legends anthology in 1998 and was adapted into a comic book miniseries by the Dabel Brothers in 2003 and subsequently collected into one of the top-selling graphic novels of 2004. The hardcover edition, the third printing for the series, was published in January, 2007 by Marvel Comics and includes the entire story plus a short comic called “The Battle of Redgrass Field” that ties into Martin’s upcoming sequel to The Hedge Knight, entitled The Sworn Sword.

“We welcome anyone who is a fan of Mr. Martin’s work to join us for the signing in New York,” said Les Dabel with an enthusiastic smile. “As big fans of his work ourselves, we’re excited to be a part of this event!”

For more details about the signing or about Dabel Brothers Productions, please visit http://www.dabelbrothers.com/”> and http://www.marvel.com/.

Comments