The 'A Song of Ice and Fire' Domain


Win an Autographed A Dance with Dragons

Patrick St. Denis of Pat’s Fantasy Hotlist has a special contest for fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire. As Pat explains, he had a series of wagers with GRRM that he finally won (if I’m not mistaken, George won the first couple of bets). What did he win? The chance to have a character named after him that would die a gruesome death in a novel of the series. As it happens, Ser Patrek of King’s Mountain (a reference to Montreal) is now in A Dance with Dragons, and he does indeed die a gruesome death.

But just how does he die? That’s the question Anne Groell, the book’s editor, poses to fans who want a chance to win an autographed copy of A Dance with Dragons. Pat provides a list of manners of deaths that he suggests actually happen in the novel (and therefore could be considered spoilers—you’ve been warned), and asks those who want to enter the contest to take a guess as to how brave Ser Patrek meets his end.

Good luck to those taking a stab at it!