Game of Thrones

HBO's 'A Song of Ice and Fire' TV Show


HBO Releases Fact Sheet, Many Casting Notes

HBO has released a massive fact sheet, full of casting information for lesser parts. The content of the sheet follows below. Keep an eye on this page later on the day, as we link up all the actors we can to IMDB pages, official sites, and/or videos.


HBO Entertainment
Season one will total 10 episodes
Production is based in Belfast, Northern Ireland and is will begin principal photography on July 26, 2010.

“Game of Thrones” has received funding from Northern Ireland Screen and will shoot in the Paint Hall studio, Belfast, as well as various locations in Northern Ireland.  A second location for production will be Malta with assistance from the Malta Film Commission.


“Game of Thrones” is a new original HBO series based on George R.R. Martin’s best-selling novels. In a world where summers span decades and winters can last a lifetime, the Westeros crown comes with a price.  Betrayal, lust, intrigue and supernatural forces shake the four corners of the Kingdom, from the scheming south and the savage eastern lands, to the frozen north and the ancient Wall that protects the realm from the darkness beyond.  Kings and queens, knights and renegades, liars and noble men vie for power in the bloody struggle for the Iron Throne.


David Benioff%09%09Executive Producer
D.B. Weiss %09%09Executive Producer
Carolyn Strauss%09Co-Executive Producer
Guymon Casady%09Co-Executive Producer
Vince Gerardis%09Co-Executive Producer
Ralph Vicinanza%09Co-Executive Producer
George R.R. Martin%09Co-Executive Producer
Mark Huffam%09%09Producer
Frank Doelger%09Producer
Marco Pontecorvo%09Director of Photography
Alik Sakharov%09Director of Photography
Gemma Jackson%09Production Designer
Michele Clapton%09Costume Designer

The pilot was written by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss.  The writers of the series are: David Benioff & D.B. Weiss (seven episodes), Bryan Cogman, Jane Espenson and George R.R. Martin (one episode each). “Game of Thrones” is based on the series of books “A Song of Ice and Fire” by George R.R. Martin.

The pilot director was Tom McCarthy.  Series directors include: Brian Kirk, Daniel Minahan and Alan Taylor. Other directors will be announced as they are confirmed.


Mark Addy as King Robert Baratheon  
Alfie Allen as Theon Greyjoy              
Sean Bean as Eddard “Ned” Stark
Emilia Clarke as Daenerys Targaryen      
Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as Ser Jamie Lannister              
Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister              
Michelle Fairley as Catelyn Stark
Aidan Gillen as Littlefinger
Jack Gleeson as Joffrey Baratheon            
Iain Glen as Ser Jorah Mormont          
Kit Harington as Jon Snow                    
Lena Headey as Cersei Lannister
Isaac Hempstead-Wright as Bran Stark  
Harry Lloyd as Viserys Targaryen
Richard Madden as Rob Stark                    
Rory McCann as Sandor Clegane (Hound)           
Sophie Turner as Sansa Stark                  
Maisie Williams as Arya Stark                    


John Bradley as Samwell Tarly
Ron Donachie as Ser Rodrik Cassel
Jerome Flynn as Bronn (Official Site)
Conleth Hill as Varys
Jason Momoa as Khal Drogo
Donald Sumpter as Maester Luwin


Josef Altin as Pyp
Gethin Anthony as Renly Baratheon (More Info (PDF))
Ciaran Bermingham as Mord
Esme Bianco as Ros
Susan Brown as Septa Mordane
Dominic Carter as Janos Slynt
Antonia Christophers as Mhaegen
Kate Dickie as Lysa Arryn
Roy Dotrice as Grand Maester Pycelle
Emun Elliott as Marillion
Lino Facioli as Robin Arryn (More Info; as GRRM remarks, little Robert Arryn has been renamed to Robin for the series, presumably to prevent confusion with King Robert.)
Jefferson Hall as Ser Hugh of the Vale
Derek Halligan as Alliser Thorne
Rhodri Hosking as Mycah (Photo on front page)
Margaret John as Old Nan
Finn Jones as Ser Loras Tyrell
Dermot Keaney as Gared
Francis Magee as Yoren
Joseph Mawle as Benjen Stark
Brendan McCormack as Ser Vardis Egan                      
Ian McElhinney as Ser Barristan Selmy
Luke McEwan as Rast
Kristian Nairn as Hodor
Rob Ostlere as Ser Waymar Royce
Eugene Simon as Lancel Lannister
Jamie Sives as Jory Cassel
John Standing as Jon Arryn
Conan Stevens as Gregor “The Mountain” Clegane
Peter Vaughan as Maester Aemon
Miltos Yeromelou as Syrio Forel